Prompt: ‘The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.’

The researcher idea that decline means lower activity level due to stagnant work such as sit in the front of the computer might wrong because the lengthy time between the research may confound the result. People maybe grow old then prevalent to degenerative disease hence the lower status. It needs a backup evidence to support the idea such as the background of the sample. Moreover, what standard they use for the measurement? As the text implies, they use different scale or rule to get the result. It may because of the change of indicator and variable not necessarily the fitness level. The sample in preceded time might yield the same result with the current research.

The statement of lower lever fitness cause by using the computer also seems problematic. What the reason they assume that people who work a long duration with a computer may lower the overall fitness level. Is it they don’t work out or denied healthy diet? There is no direct connection to the statement although the fact of physical fitness level connects with exercise.

The author refutes the researcher claim that the decline of the fitness level of Corpora’s citizen due to spending too much time using a computer. The author claim that area with highest computer ownership has the best fitness citizen assume that the owner means use the computer as well. Let’s say the numerous computer in the neighborhood just use for occasional email or game and the people still actively engaged in outdoor activities hence the higher level of fitness level, the author claim may prove warranted.

Moreover, the text backs up the statement of lower fitness level due to economic growth projected by the purchase of sports equipment and services. This based on the assumption that people use their additional income to buy the sports equipment etcetera hence the lower income means low chance to work out and decline of fitness level. However, if the people simply don’t buy new equipment because the old one still good, the sports utility doesn’t consumable product it doesn’t break easily, the assumption could be wrong. The idea that people don’t like to do sport or don't engage in physical activity will impact their fitness level regardless the economic status that time.

Based on all stated reason, the research might not reliable hence wrong or partially correct with the assumption that using the computer too much might affect fitness level it. However, the refutes comment from the author has so many loopholes that the idea may not hold the truth as it seems.