"The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

'Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.'

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.”

The memorandum claimed that the decline of advertisement and increase of complaint due to the less weather and local news. It stated that to reverse the condition, the program needs to restore the time devoted for those particular segment. However, due to the loopholes at the memorandum logic, the conclusion needs more evidence to be justified.

First, the fact that the program devoted more time to the national news. This may happen not only because of the choice of editor or director but also the limited number of news in local setting. If there is no information to report thus the lower time serve for the segment, it also applies to the weather segment. Additionally, the nature of a weather prediction also contribute to the truncate time. The weather news serves a similiar type information every day just different number, if there is no abberant event, then the longer time will be redundant. The memorandum need to show the extensive data to back up this claim, includes the type of information,if any, they cut from the segment or percentage the type of news that played everyday.

Second, the complaint part where the viewers concerned about those two segment. There is no significant data that the complaint about the time, is it the lack of it or even too long. They just "concerned" hence without back up data about what the variable that distaste the viewer, it can be intrepeted as a facile report. It maybe just unreliable weather prediction or even the tawdry weather segment background. If the concerned viewer talk about the superfluos stuff instead of time, the longer segment will not serve the purpose the manager intended.

Lastly, the cancellation of the advertisement maybe an effect of economy disturbance or the newfound digital media such as Instagram or Twitter thus the diverted ad money. They allocate their budget to mass media that have an international coverage instead just a local consumer. Nevertheless, the text need to provide more data why the local business revoke their ad and managed the problem from the data instead relied at unwarranted assumption.

The effect of declining viewer or advertise money may come from different side other than what stated. Lack of data and illogical assumption to derived the decision will hinder the main objective of the late-night news program.