Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

It is true heroes and role models show a society's highest ideals. When a person do something outstanding for society from others people of the society then he or she became hero or role model for society. Heroes and role model have uniqueness which makes them different from others. They have abstract thinking pattern and power to do something extraordinary than others. It is not necessary that the heroes and role model can define the character of men and women of that society. They did differently that clearly show they are different from general people of society. There are some famous examples which help to strengthen my point.

First of all, the great Mahatma Gandhi is the role for so many people and he is not only admired in India but he renounced in other countries also. He always spread his principal and motivates people to accept them. He worked for peace and non-violence in the country even during freedom struggle he holds his patience. He is such a great personality who taught a lot but with his personal characteristics we cannot understand the society. When Gandhi Ji had worked with truth and non-violence at same time some leaders worked with violence. To understand the character of a society it’s not enough to check the character of heroes or role model. There are very people who really represent the Gandhi Ji's teachings and follow them with heart. The heroes rise in the society with the demand of situation and they use their uniqueness to help the society.

Even in the society different types of people live together to fulfill their own demands. Let’s take an example, I am living in India and here people belong to different culture and custom but they lived together on the basis of mutual understanding. Any hero or role model in society also belongs to a specific culture then he or she could not represent the society. Moreover, in previous example the Gandhi Ji belongs to Gujarati family so it may happen we found similarity with Gujarati custom but his principles are unique and his own cognition. Each person is unique so can find some similarity but the core information could not get from study of heroes or role models characters.

Additionally, there are so many famous personalities such as Mother Teresa, Nelson Mandela, A.P.J.Adul Kalam, Abraham Lincoln and many more which are famous as heroes of the society but they all worked for society without their own benefit. The best way to understand the character of the society one should visit to their land and stay in local areas. In any country the core culture and real character of people would study in the local market or tribal areas because the heroes made themselves different from others.

Finally, to understand the character of society one should visit there because on the basis of aforementioned examples it is not good idea to look at the heroes or role models of the society.