Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students — like people in general — prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author claims that there should be the elimination of elective courses, and students’ educational syllabus should be organized by the colleges. The writer further reasons, the college students as like as public prefer to follow the predefined pattern instead of having their individual perspective. I fundamentally do not concur with this disposition. In what follows, I will list my cogent arguments to cast doubt on the accuracy of this prompt.

The first striking fact which should be considered is the modern system of education which provides mostly the courses instead of program basing on the solo basic knowledge. As these courses interdisciplinary refers to various fields of science, which are apparently irrelative, consideration of varied elective courses according to the students' selected course is a wise action. Thus, by this wide range of courses, the college students get the required background for continuing their education in further levels. A lucid example which clarifies this argument is my graduate program. My master program is Building Science, as an interdisciplinary program, it covers various field such as mechanical engineering, architectural engineering, civil, physics, chemistry, and etc. I studied architectural engineering; but unfortunately, I have a shortage of information in the field of mechanics, and chemistry. This dearth of background causes my program lasted for three years instead of normal two years, as I have to get some elective courses from the areas that I have no idea about. However, with the proliferate programs during my undergraduate and college education, I would finish my education at standard duration.

Another crux factor which denies the claim is the importance of the students’ desires. Actually, each educational syllabus possesses the base and obligatory courses which define the path of the education; on the other hand, the selection of elective courses should be allocated to students’ willing. While the program is shaped according to the student inclination, his or her attendance in the classes are more effective. According to the statistical data released from trustworthy research which is conducted in the Psychological Department of Middle East Technical University, the role of students’ desire and passion over the courses leads the learning process to be fifty-six percent faster than the lessons which they do not like. Consequently, by the free elective courses, the student could make a decision according to their willing which leads to a better learning process.

Finally, the author assumes that the students as the public prefer to get an ordered and predefined path instead of making a decision. I believe that it is a shaky assumption for the reason. Because, students as educated people should learn to own their perspective, rather than following other orders. In fact, the crux factor of science is the evolution of a topic from the different dimensions to seek the ultimate climax. Therefore, by the basic lesson from tcollege, they get prepare to possess their attitude and assay a subject in a general view.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned arguments illustrates my statue toward the prompt, with which I do not agree.