Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

I do not agree with the statement that one should follow only worthy selfless goals. While it is certainly true that humans are social animals and we should look out for each other in some form , that is no reason to stifle one's dream.

While it seems illogical , there is nothing wrong with having selfish dreams. A young person can only be motivated to follow his dream if he truly is passionate about achieving it. If someone dictates the terms of what his goal should be , there is a good chance he will achieve neither his own dream nor strive to achieve the goals set for him. People should accept that not every one is a philanthropist and will work towards a noble social cause. It also has to be noted that a selfish person can contribute a lot to the society by simple fulfilling his dreams. Consider a case of a individual who wants to become a entrepreneur only to fulfill his material needs and his passion. If he becomes succesful , he will undoubtedly create many other jobs which will support other people.

Similarly , the claim talks about 'worthy goals' , but who can decide these for an individual ? What is worthy for one human may not be for other. Take an example of a young student who wants to become a teacher to help educate the poor students. On ethical terms , this is certainly a 'worthy' goal. But should such restrictions of choosing similar career be imposed upon someone who wants to become a mathematician or an architect ? Clearly they have different aim to achieve in life. Also , the claim tries to establish that having a selfish and achieving it is wrong. But , it goes without saying that achieving any significant goal - selfish or not is very difficult. If a individual manages to achieve his goals he fully deserves the various benefits or the joys he gets from them.

However , it is certainly true that at some point in time we should try to give something back to the society. This would certainly be applicable only if the individual is in a influential position. Consider the case of various personalities like Bill Gates , Warren Buffet who engaged in huge amount of charity after they achieved their dreams. Thus , total selfishness is not appreciable as ultimately we are a part of the society and we still have a responsibility to contribute towards its betterment in some form.

Thus , while I disagree with the statement of making individuals picking worthy goals , I agree that complete selfishness and materialism is also not desirable. The statement which I would agree more upon is , 'Young people should be advised to follow their dream but also made aware about their responsibility to the society'.