Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

The issue writer contends government should ensure major cities receive enough financial support since mostly these cities preserve and generate nation’s cultural traditions. However, some people might agree with this statement I believe small cities and towns are more interested in traditions and cultural acts. In the following paragraphs, the most important reasons supporting my viewpoint are discussed.

The first reason to be mentioned is that the people in big cities do not have enough time and energy to engage in the cultural activities. That is because most of the people in large cities are working for eight hours a day since living expenses in such cities is higher compared to the small cities. Therefore, major city population does not play an important role in preservation and generation of cultural traditions. As a result, governments are not required to ensure that big cities receive enough financial support to thrive.

The second reason to be mentioned is that people in big cities are from different cultures and have different cultural traditions. Consider Chicago as an example; people in this huge city have different languages and traditions. Some of them are Asian while others are African-American even some people are Indian. Therefore, big cities cannot generate or keep traditions because of diversity of their population. However, most of the small cities have a population from the same culture which will result in a thriving culture.

In conclusion, large cities does not play an important role in generating and keeping traditions because of their diversity of population from different cultures. Also, people in major cities do not have enough time and energy to get engaged in such activities.