Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, there are many television channels discussing events around the world. There is a controversial topic among people, that whether it is important to learn about the events that do not affect our lives. I believe that it is not important to know these events. In the following paragraphs the most important reasons supporting my viewpoint are discussed.

First reason is that most of these events make us sad. Therefore, they increase the chance of depression. In other words, most of news are about war or food problems in some countries. Thus, listening to these news we feel more depressed, especially if we cannot help those people who suffer from war or lack of food. For example, my cousin listened to news every day and worried a lot about the people who lived in bad conditions. After a while, he became so depressed that he had to go see a psychologist and the doctor advised him to not watch bad news. Thus, knowing events in the other part of the world which do not affect our lives may depress us.

Second reason is that people do not have time to watch news of events around the world. That's because they dedicate most of their time to their work. Put differently, most people lead a hectic life and put most of their energy for their work. For instance, my dad works more than official hours, 10 hours every day. Therefore, when he comes home he is tired and does not have enough energy to follow the news. Hence, people tend to put their time and energy for their work rather than events in the other place of world.

Third reason is that we can try to solve problems around us and put our energy to help people who need help. In other words, there are a lot of people around us who need help and by helping them we can improve our environment. For instance, my uncle helps animals in his neighborhood by giving food to them and providing their living place. It is more valuable than worrying about events or problems which we cannot do anything about them.

So to sum it up, people do not have much time and prefer to dedicate it to their work and persona life instead of other places events. Moreover, knowing these events can increase chance of becoming depressed since most of these events are sad and depressing. Also helping people around us is more valuable than watching news in other place of world.