Imagine that you are in a classroom or meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect. In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do? 1. Interrupt and correct the mistake right away; 2. wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and talk to the teacher or meeting leader; 3. say nothing

Making mistakes is possible especially when you are talking for a long time. There is a common situation that we all have experienced it; when a teacher or leader in the class or meeting says something incorrect and we realize it. Now there are three choices, we can either tell them right away, wait until session ends and the tell them in person or do not take any action. Among the three choices I believe the first one has more benefits although some people might pick the second or third choice. In the following paragraphs I will describe the most imporatant reasons supporting my viewpoint.

The first reason is that most speakers make minor mistakes when they talk and these mistakes may cause misunderstandings among the listeners. For example, most teachers use the names incorrectly when they are comparing two seperate categories , and if the students do not mention the correct name some will think that teacher is describing the other group and eventually become confused. This happened to me many times in the classroom and I was confused with the subject and distracted from the class for a long time thinking about the what teacher said. However, by pointing the teachers mistake rightaway most of teachers reacted in a friendly way and apologized for their mistake. So that is why I be

Other reason to be mentioned is that most speakers become glad if you mention their mistake for, it shows that you were listening attentively. We all know the more listeners are focused to the talk, the happier the speaker. Actually, the speakers consider listeners focus as an appreciation to their effort and talk. Moreover, it shows the speaker's ability in giving an intersting talk which can attract listener's attention.

Another reason is that listerner's contribution to the talk makes it lively. Actually, most famous speakers use this technique to absorb more people's attention to the talk. By this way the talk becomes more attractive and less bored becuse when one person talks for a long time most of the people become bored easily. But when there is a dialogue or even a discussion among one of listeners and the speaker the whole meeting becomes more interesting to watch.

So to sum it up, correction of a mistake in a meeting or classroom will block further misunderstandings especially if the mistake has a pivotal role in understanding the subject of talk. Moreover, most speaker appreciate listeners' focus on their talk becuse it indicates the talk's attractiveness to the people. Also, contribution of listeners to the meeting or class will make it more lively and interesting.