Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Friends play an important role in most of the people's lives. A controversial question among scholars regarding this matter is whether the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people is more important for happiness or the ability to make new friends. I contend it is more important to be able to keep the long-lasting relationships with a small number of friends. In the following paragraphs, I will describe the most important reasons supporting my viewpoint.

The first reason is that people in long-lasting relationships know each other better. In other words, they know situations and behaviors that might make their friend sad or irritated. They also have a profound knowledge about things that can make their friends happy. Therefore, it is of low probability to do the stuff that makes their friend sad. For example, when I was in college I became friends with my roommates and they organized a party for my birthday. However, I appreciated their tries I became a little sad after seeing their presents because they have bought some stuff that I was not interested in and I never used their gifts. I realized that was because they did not know me well thus, they had no idea what to buy for me. Hence, new friends may hurt each other’s feelings and that causes sadness.

The second reason to be mentioned is that sharing worries and problems with close friends is easy compared to the new relationships. Put it differently, it is very easy to get help from people who you know for a long time compared to the people who you have a newly formed relationship. For instance, my dad has many friends from his college and some from work. Whenever he has a financial problem, his friends from college lend him some money and help him even though he is close to his coworkers. He says it is very easy to get help from old friends since they trust him. Therefore, old friends can help in solving each other’s problems since they trust each other and by this means, they result in each other’s happiness.

To sum it up, close old friends can help you in dilemmas and new friends might hurt each other’s feelings since they do not know each other well.