Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The best way to learn about a foreign country is to read newspaper and magazines from that country.

Throughout the history humankind has always wanted to become familiar with other people and their culture. Scholars are always looking for best ways to get to know other countries. A controversial question is whether reading newspapers and magazines from a foreign country is the best way to learn about that country. Although some people might agree with this statement I contend that it is not correct. In the following I will describe the most significant reasons describing my viewpoint.

new Roman",serif;mso-ascii-theme-font:major-bidi;mso-hansi-theme-font: major-bidi;mso-bidi-theme-font:major-bidi">The first reason to be mentioned is that there are a lot of other ways to learn about a foreign country. Nowadays universe is becoming smaller because of the social networks and they have a huge effect in bringing people closer. Today we can easily become friends with someone who is on the other side of earth and speak through the video by means of new technologies. so it is not only easy but also very fun to be in touch with people from other countries and learn about their culture. so technology has made a lot of oppurtunities for people who want to learn about another countries.

new Roman",serif;mso-ascii-theme-font:major-bidi;mso-hansi-theme-font: major-bidi;mso-bidi-theme-font:major-bidi">The second reason to be mentioned is that newspapers and magazines include a limited range of information. most of magazines are about fashion or science which includes a small portion of information we require to know a foreign country. also newspapers are mainly about daily problems and news in a country and do not include country’s history or traditions which are very important in getting familiar with another country.

new Roman",serif;mso-ascii-theme-font:major-bidi;mso-hansi-theme-font: major-bidi;mso-bidi-theme-font:major-bidi">The last but not least reason is that in order to know a foreign country the best way is travelling there. By visiting a country one would experience the environment of that country and would have a chance to socialize with people of that country which will give idea about that country’s culture. The closer a person could get to a country and its culture the more he will understand them. so the best way to learn about a foreign country is travelling there.

new Roman",serif; mso-ascii-theme-font:major-bidi;mso-fareast-font-family:Calibri;mso-fareast-theme-font: minor-latin;mso-hansi-theme-font:major-bidi;mso-bidi-theme-font:major-bidi; mso-ansi-language:EN-US;mso-fareast-language:EN-US;mso-bidi-language:AR-SA">so to wrap it up, there are many ways to know a distant country. knowing a distant country is now made easier by means of technology which has bring people closer from all over the world. technology has made contacting people from around the world easier and thus easier to learn each others culture. Moreover, magazines and newspapers contain little information about a country’s culture and history and they mainly discuss a special field such as fashion or daily news. so they are not comprehensive sources to learn about a foreign country’s culture. also the best way to become familiar with a country is by travelling and experiencing it closely and by person.