Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Nowadays, celebrities play a pivotal role in the societies. A controversial question among scholars regarding this matter is whether celebrities opinions are more important to younger people than they are to older people. I contend famous people such as entertainers and athletes have more influence on younger people. In the following paragraphs I will discuss the most important reasons supporting my viewpoint.

The first reason is that young people take celebrities as role models. Young people want to be successful and famous in the future so they look up to people who have paved their way towards success and try to imitate them. That's because they think by doing so they have more common with the celebrities and they are more like them. For example, a celebrity's hair and fashion style becomes common among the young people and a lot of young people try to copy them. That's why most of the companies producing fashion related items such as cloth and shoes try to show their products used by celebrities in the advertisements, to increase selling their products. Taking them as role models, young people are influenced by celebrities.

Another important reason is that young people have little experience in life. They have little knowledge and are building their believes and are experiencing life. Therefore, they are more vulnerable to other people's, especially famous people, suggestions and guidance. However, older people have enough experience to do not be affected by other's opinions. They mainly act based on their own experiences and values that have learned in life. Having lower experience in life young people are more susceptible to others opinions.

To sum it up, young people look up to celebrities as role models thus they are more influenced from celebrities compared to the young people. Moreover, older people have enough experiences to decide on their own.