In the past young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Making decisions plays a pivotal role in the future of people's lives. Especially young peoples' decisions can change their fate. Therefore, it is of high importance to make right decisions. One of controversial questions among scholars is whether today young people depend on their parents less than past on making decisions. I believe this statement is valid due to a couple of reasons. In the following paragraphs, I will describe the most important reasons supporting my viewpoint.

First reason to be mentioned is that nowadays accessing information is much easier compared to the past. Now we have access to tremendous amount of knowledge by means of technology. Millions of records are available in libraries as books and most of them have electronic versions too. So, we can use knowledge of centuries by a laptop in our home. However, in the past people did not have such possibilities and their only source of information was their ancestors experiences. Therefore, young people often referred to their parents to take advantage of their knowledge and experiences. Nowadays, young people know more about fields such as technology than older people do by using apps and search engines.

Another reason is that in the past people were more dependent on their parents. Children mostly followed their father's job and lived close to their parents and as a result, they were more financially dependent on their parents. All of these factors resulted in a higher influence by their parents in every aspect of life including making decisions. On the other hand, today young people have their own jobs and live away from their parents even in another country. Therefore, they are more independent on every aspect of their lives. Moreover, today young people are more interested to choose their lifestyle and follow their dreams. Since they understand the value of the life and the fact that they are responsible for their decisions and future not their parents. In addition, they look up to successful people who paved their path toward success by deciding to go with their own interests and decisions instead of their parents.

To sum it up, today young people are more independent compared to the past and they want to choose their path by themselves. Moreover, today we all have access to knowledge that can be used in helping young people to decide wisely.