Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

After high school, students should have at least one year to work or travel. It's better than attending university straight away.

It is obvious to everyone that young ages is of crucial importance in one’s future. Most of students in this time and after their graduation from high school attend universities. A question rises here that whether students should attend universities right away after graduating from high school or spend one year to work or travel before going to university. Although some people might believe that it is more convenient and efficient to attend university right after high school, I contend it is not only beneficial but also necessary for students to spend a time working or traveling before starting a degree in university. In the following paragraphs, I will describe most important reasons supporting my viewpoint.

The first reason to be mentioned is that, most of the students after graduation from high school has no idea what they want to do in their life and are dubious about the field they want to specialize in. Students, especially in my country, put a lot of time and effort during their high school years to do their difficult tasks and pass enormous exams. So they do not have much time to think about their future, passions and interests and most of them choose a major their parents are interested in and after 2 or 3 years they understand that they are not enthusiastic about their studies and leave university or get depressed. Studies show that students who entered their studies without their interest show a higher chance of leaving studies during first years. So students after high school should put a time to think about their future and the road they want to follow in their life and it will prevent them choosing wrong path or major.

Other reason is that working or traveling after high school will improve their social skills and broaden their view of the world. Students in high school do not have real world experiences and are mainly concentrated on their education so, a chance to work or travel for a year will greatly help them to test their abilities and what they have learned in a real situation. Most of great writers or entrepreneurs claim they have learned valuable lessons in the real world experiences rather than universities.

The last reason is that most of the people are not interested in continuing their studies because they want to pursue a job which does not require academic training. As we all know knowledge can not replace experience and is of more value compared to the theories. Throughout history there have been a lot of successful people who had not academic training. Especially in this world which require expertise rather than degree. For example, Google eliminated the requirement of university degree for all of their positions and people are evaluated based on their skills and abilities instead of education.

To sum it up, most of the people after graduation from high school are not sure which path to follow or are not enthusiastic to attend a university because they want to learn a skill on their own. So it is better to consider a time before going university to work or travel.