Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

The author of this statement asserts governments must ensure that major cities should receive the financial support they need thrive. And reason behind this assertion is that cities are the own in which culture and traditions are preserved. At first the claim and reason behind it seems to be valid but if we go on depth and analyze it, I found the both claim and reason invalid. And reasons for my disagreement are below.

Cities are obviously the heart of the country and most of them are already in developed stage. Governments should rather focus on the rural part of country which is under developing and I think it’s the rural are where more cultural tradition are preserved. If rural area receive financial support to preserved and maintain cultural tradition then it would be beneficial to both people of rural area and nation. For instance, in country like Nepal where developed cities are meager than rural area, cultural tradition can be seen best in rural areas. Cities area are filled with people from different culture and they are so busy on their own schedule that they do not have time to preserve culture and tradition.

As mention above, if rural area are provided financial support to preserve the cultural tradition then it can attract many internal and national tourist which will help to uplift the economic condition of villagers. Many unemployed young people can get job within their village and chances of losing capable young generation would be very less. This would directly or indirectly help the nation's economics state. With ability of high preservation and diversity of culture and tradition would lead nation to be known worldwide for culture.

But, its not that the cities are not important to preserve culture and traditions. Government should not be prejudiced and provide financial support to both of the areas. Its just that government should be focused more on rural areas as rural area are the one where people are preserving cultures. If government did not focus on it now then there is possibilities that it would be lost and remained only in papers.