Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation’s cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

From Athens to our contemporary world, major cities have always been windows through which people convey and perceive the main characteristics of societies. While it is true that some cities are predominantly economic and financial centers, and not the ideal lens with which to view the wont of a nation, they have a critical role to play in preservation of ethos for two reasons 1) because of their historical and cultural legacy, 2) they act as bulwarks for the whole country. The government cannot, however, be absolved of its responsibility simply by concentrating on major cities.

Major cities are benchmark in education, culture, politics. Most of the best universities, the greatest museums or the congresses are sheltered within these and set the tempo of the cultural life of countries. Despite the undeniable common feature of most metropolises i.e cosmopolitanism, world cities like Roma, Paris or New Delhi have a distinct cultural heritage, the main reason of them rising to prominence and being known for. Maintaining these rich cultural grounds requires money, and while there are other sources as patrons, incomes from tourism - the primary source of funding remains to be the government.

Opponents may argue that true values and traditions get less diluted in small cities than in the bigger. One cannot, though, ignore the incapability of localities to attract private investors, as most artisans and provincial facilities are viewed as languishing. The attractiveness of major cities, funded by the state, can be a springboard to label a country as competitive and pleasant at a world stage. Increasing tourism, for instance, resulting in public taxes and proceeds might be a means for the government to fuel a prosperous economy, a part of which might be allocated to villages. By ensuring that their major cities receive the needed financial support, states indirectly make fundraise to aid back burner zones in preserving and generating their local traditions.

It is also crucial to note that in large societies that have an eclectic culture, traditions and habits vary from one region to another. Many speak different languages, rely on varied businesses to make a living or do not belong to the same ethnicities. In such cases, capitals of regions act as custodians of the heritage's preservation and their funding is essential to protect the core of a society, which subsumes plethora of aspects. This exposure would also enable to decentralize the prevalent power of every biggest city of a country, leading to a more balanced cultural habitus between all the nations' stakeholders.

There is, however, a worrying fallout regarding the galore funding of major cities that needs to be taken into consideration. Significant gaps arise between big and smaller cities as the later are often neglected. Emblematic museums, stadiums and castles fall into ruins due to lack of means, denoting a sheer apathy from the ruling parties. Indeed, these forgotten areas bear the brunt of rulers finding wide merits in the funds of major cities, mainly for these are synonymous with potential personal interests. The financial support required by major cities should not impinge upon the subsidies of rural areas, nor can the importance of their bucolic beauty and essence be undermined.