Claim: Group assignments that students must work together to complete should replace a

substantial amount of traditional lecture-based instruction in college and university

courses.

Reason: It is vital for students to gain experience collaborating with peers to study a topic

and to achieve a common goal.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The statement states that traditional instruction in college and university courses should be replaced by group assignments in which the students can work together so they could learn from each others and learn how to collaborate to achieve a common goal. Personally I disagree with this statement since group assignments have many disadvantages and negative impact on the most of the student.

First, in group assignments students divide the work on them so each one will get to do one task. Therefore each student will learn just one part of the assignment while he would miss other important parts. However, in the traditional way each student have to do the homework by himself and that would make him learn every small details of the work. Foe example, if a group of student was required to do research about the concrete industry in Hebron City. Each student would do specific task maybe one student would have look for information about the method of making concrete other student have to search for how the concrete in transported and so one. In this case the first student learned nothing about the concrete transportation he only got information about making the concrete. and the same thing here happened for the other student.

Second, group most likely to consist of student with different levels and different capabilities, so that most students with fewer capabilities would rely on other group members to do the task for them and they may not do any work and learn nothing. On the other hand, if everyone is doing the task alone, he has to work by himself or nobody will do it for him. For the same concrete assignment example, if the student who has to find information about concrete transportation did not do his work, other group member will have to do it for him so they will not get a bad score and in this case that student learned nothing.

Of course, some would argue that group assignments make the students learn how to work as a team and even make their communication abilities batter. This is true and nobody can deny that, but group assignments has worse disadvantages which I mentioned before, and there are others better ways to achieve this like sports teams and other groups activities.