Claim: Group assignments that students must work together to complete should replace a substantial amount of traditional lecture-based instruction in college and university courses.

Reason: It is vital for students to gain experience collaborating with peers to study a topic and to achieve a common goal.

The following claim states that a significant amount of time must be deduced from traditional lecture-based instruction in college and university courses and instead must be provided for group assignments. One can say that of many, the two ways in which a student can gain knowledge is from 1. learning form the learned, that is teachers from the college/ university 2. gaining knowledge from their peers.

One cannot deny that group studying helps a child to develop his communication and social skills, gain experience collaborating with peers, sharing different approaches for solving a particular problem, and also achieve a common goal. On the other hand the traditional method of teaching can provide a properly strucuterd and well-designed curriculum, taught by skilled teachers, guidance not only for solving questions but also to build their own careers and be competant enough. While both these methods have their own advantages, eliminating significant time from any one of it does not seem feasible. From the following claims in the essay, it can be concluded that both methods are instead complementary and should be given appropriate time.

While the arguer provides reason to provide more time to group study, it becomes necessary to bring in critical disadvantages of group study. It is not always necessary that all the questions from the group assignments will be solved even by the group together. At a point, it becomes necessary for students to devote time to their college/ universities to clear up certain concepts due to which they weren't able to solve few questions in assignments. It will be beneficial that instead of discussing all the questions, only the douts can be solved in the class and hence saving time, however, that must not implement, reducing that time from the class. Instead, this additional time can be used to teach advanced concepts using several interactive tools developed, to make students more engaged in class too. This can help students develop additional skills.

The exposure can be provided in the class itself as seen by using appropriate technologies. In addition to the point, it is also very necessary for the student to developed his own personality and make his own goals. This strongly weakens the reason to the argument that student can aim for a common goal in group study. Group study till some extent can be responsible to developed sheeps following same pah and goal as few of their members. This shows a prime importance fo traditional college teaching method that can help develope student their own skills and personalities. In addition to developing own personalities, one crucial point is not to be overlooked that all the students are not of same caliber.

There can be a case in groups that all the students are not of same intelligence or potential. Hence, at the end many weak students tend to completely depend on the smarter students. This can have great disadvantage that the weaker ones might not learn significantly from the assignment or the project. Not only the weaker students, but, generally in group projects it is the case where the work is divided amongst the members. Thus in the end students might end up knowing only a portion of the project. Eg: the project is to describe and analyze different species of plants. Out of 10, each student will end up knowing only 2 of those species in a group of 5. Thus in this case it also becomes necessary to give time to the traditional teaching method equal time, so that there can be a one on one interaction of student and teacher during interactive teaching sessions.

Hence, though group study has its own benefits, it is not feasible to reduce the significant time from traditional teaching methods from colleges and universities. It can be possible that if these two teaching methods are implemented parallel, it can make a student ready to face the competitiveness when he passes out his graduation.