Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

The following statement suggests that all the universities and colleges make it a requirement for students to spend atleast one semester in a foreign country. Studying in foreign country has its own benifits be it exposure to different culture and many more discussed further. However, I do not completely agree with the idea to make it a requirement for students to go abroad even for a single semester.

Not all the students have wealthy family and hence will not be able to afford the tuition, study, and living fees charged to study even one semester abroad. The implementation towards this action may endup being a load on the financial and economical conditions of many families. This may result in students ending up searching for universities that do not have it mandatory for students to study atleast one semester abroad. There is also a possibility that students manage to go abroad but then to compensate with the respective costs, they need to start working along with their studies. This can hinder both students' time & focus on study and the main aim & motive to send them to foreign country too.

The financial condition might not be the only problem. To the concern that student can learn competitivenes by studying abroad, it might not be necessary. There has been very less difference observed for a student who stays in his/ her own country. This can be supported by the fact that there are many factores that a student might get exposed to once he enters into his graduation phase. Student has to choose his university considering the universities of the USA and India, it can be claimed that the students of the universities are already of varied culture. Additionally, not all students would be comfortable to adapt to living in different country for just a span of 6 months and adjusting there.

Adaptaion to different location can be a point against the consideration to implement the following issue. However, some might also prefer studying abroad considering that students can get the exposure to different environment they get, know how the teaching styles vary, get to know cultures all around the world and also learn to take their own descisions when they are apart from their native country. In the contrary, with the improvement in technology, all this is possible for a student from their local country itself. Students these days can easily download courses taught by professor situated miles away in some different county. There are plenty of courses available in any named language if needed for exposure for courses in different countries. Hence, there is an alternative: colleges and universities must provide required materials and use such study tools using improving technology that it eliminates need for a student to get the same exposure travelling to different country.

Thus considering the above arguments it can be concluded that studying abroad might not be a necessary requirement to be implementd in a university or college.