Claim: Group assignments that students must work together to complete should replace a substantial amount of traditional lecture-based instruction in college and university courses.

Reason: It is vital for students to gain experience collaborating with peers to study a topic and to achieve a common goal.

The author claims that group assignments are important in student life aiming for a common goal and experiencing collaboration with peers and hence it should replace traditional lecture-based instrudction in courses. This claim however needs a comprehensive analysis before concluding and executing the decision.

It is true that collaboration plays a major role in later life of a student. For example, in corporate world, every project is done in a group inside respective departments and sometimes different departments also needs to colaborate together keeping in mind the common goal for the betterment of the company. Working on the group assignment develops certain skills in an individual like understanding with the teammates, thier strengths and weekness also helping to socialise which important because as a human being we live in the society at the end of the day. This helps us to be better citizen to the society and the country.

On the other hand,there are many cases where one single person dominates perhaps because of seniority or knowledge. The other teammates here may feel inferior and unheard. This leads to lack of interest and hence no involvement. Sometimes, things get ugly leading to split in the groups due to dominance by two people. There are many similar cases in the group project leading to failure of producing the required results. With these hinderance and chicanery, individual's learning rate is effected negatively.

While this essay propounds collaborating as an essential life skill, however there are certain negative aspects to it which might destroy the entire point of it, making it utter waste of time. Hence, how to resolve this? Perhaps a group activity requires a checkpoint. A group activity can be fair if it is assessed by the supervisor on certain checkboxes. This includes assessing each team member's contribution to the project. And to make sure learning is happening parallelly, group assignments should be project based, which requires brain storming. Brain storming requires team's collaboration hence consequently the purpose of collaboration in group assignment is achieved.