The following letter is from a group of Linford College alumni to the chair of the art department at the college.

"In a recent survey of college graduates, 90 percent agreed that participating in an internship increased their chances of finding a job after graduation, but last year, only 40 percent of Linford’s graduating art students had completed an internship. Skyway Designs, located in nearby Linford City, is the perfect company for students to intern with for a number of reasons: They offer internships in all of their departments, so every student is sure to find work that they are interested in. Additionally, their internships offer flexible working hours. Finally, Skyway Designs is known for being one of the best in the design business, as over 80 percent of businesses in Linford City have used the services of Skyway Designs for their design needs. Given the vital role that work experience plays in a student’s success after graduation, we recommend that our art department require all art students to complete an internship with Skyway Designs before graduation."

The letter from a group of Linford College alumni proposes for art department of the college should make it compulsory for the students to complete and internship with Skyway Designs before graduation. This letter is sent to the chair of the art department of the college with some minute survey results and statistics. However the prediction is contignent upon several questions that must be answered to properly evaluate the validity of the argument.

The first statement of the presented letter documents that 90% of college graduates agree that participating in an internship increases the probability of landing a job. However, the fact that it is a survey and not a statistic makes it unwarranted. The argument needs to include exact statistics which can be easily extracted from college websites. These statistics can include the percentage of people who have done internships out of the people who have got a job. The argument could also present the percentage of people who got an internship and still didnt land a job. Inculsion of these statistics play a crucial role in justifying the survey.

In furtherance, the letter presents that 40% of the students have completed an internship. If the survey included what percent of the internship students have interned from Skuway Designs would have strengthened the claim. The argument mainly focuses afterwards on the Skyway Designs company which raises the doubt, if it's the only company in the city for art students to intern. The absence of the mention of other companies raises the question if this is the only choice for an internship. And if this is the only available company, then is the company prepared to give internship for entire batch.

Finally reiteration of Skyway Designs raises a question on the group of alumni who sent a letter. There's a posibility of this argument being a corporate scam. For instance if the group of alumni who wrote a letter to the chair consists of 50% or more than 50% employees from Skyway Designs or their clients, this could be a way to get more interns, as interns are free labourers in many companies. Hence if the details of the members of the group involved in this claim if mentioned would clarify the intention. Even though it is claimed to offer flexible working hours if the argument could shower some light on the stipend, would help to motivate the students to take the internship rather than making it a compulsion.

In conclusion, despite work experience playing a vital role in student's success after graduation the recommendation of art department requiring all art students to complete internship with Skyway Designs before graduation is rife with unwarranted assumption and open to the questions stated above. These questions must be answered satisfactorily to prove the plausibility of such presentments.