Claim: Imagination is a more valuable asset than experience. Reason: People who lack experience are free to imagine what is possible without the constraints of established habits and attitudes.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you

Imagination is the ability to form pictures, think of creative ideas and solutions to problem-solving. To experience means to undergo a process or to have a hands-on encounter with an event. There is value in both imagination and experience, but is imagination more of an asset, because it lacks boundaries and disciplines, and hence is more expansive and free-flowing? Certainly not.

Experience is valued in every field and imagination is a valuable asset to endeavor a fresh approach towards things. Experience warns against actions that are likely to prove disastrous. It inculcates the tact of handling difficult situations along with taking success and failure in one's stride. The significance of experience is confirmed when one applies for a job in any field. Experience of work is always preferred, as it proves to be a bonus to the organization. Imagination on the other hand, helps to develop a fresh outlook for every issue. The freshness and novelty of ideas fills the person with such great amount of zeal that it is most likely to spread around and affect the associates too.

From my perspective, I mostly agree with the statement that imagination is a more valuable asset than experience. Admittedly, one cannot completely live a life depending on impractical and lofty imagination. Embedded into this modern society full of trivial social activities, one no doubt has to follow experience, no matter from him/herself or others, as to survive. For instance, if one worked as a novice in a large companies, instead of precipitously taking actions according to their own imagination, he/she would better listen what more experienced employees said, and if possible, handle tasks as they do. Or in another case, rather than creating one’s own social rules, the better one complies with social decorum-basically conventions derived from past experience-the better one behaves and impress others in socials. Indeed, there are myriad cases that illustrate the significance of experience.

The claim that imagination is more useful than experience is a very one-sided view of the world. While it is true that imagination is a useful skill in many ways, and enables one to think of things others cannot, experience is indeed also a valuable skill to have. Considering the points made in this essay, it seems that both imagination and experience are necessary to some degree, and having one without the other is detrimental.

Having a free imagination means that you are indeed free of the restraints imposed on the minds of less imaginative people. Such varied areas as the arts, sciences and engineering have one thing in common – they require imagination to succeed. While one of the Note: Only testbig VIP readers can access the full content of this essay.