Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

With advancement in the technological and industrial fields, our lives have become more comfortable. But this modernization in society has been accompanied by various complex problems, which are gripping the society from its core. There are various problems that a society faces like poverty, unemployment, crime against women, killings, illegal trade, environment issues etc. Although, there are people who believe that it is the attitude of people and awareness, not the laws , that will solve the hardcore issues prevailing in a society. But in reality, it is a strong legal system in a society that acts as deterrent and with its proper implementation it can help in solving or reducing the modern day problems.

Laws act as a deterrent for the people from indulging in the illegal acts. For example, persons involved in a verbal brawl might hold a grudge against one another and would even have a desire to cause harm, but these laws prevent him from indulging in acts of violence. Had there been no laws in place, even small instances of bickering would have taken serious forms.

In today’s globalized and interconnected world, laws are pivotal in curbing the illegal flow of black money, checking the movement of immigrants from different parts of world, preserving the interest of local farmers and trader etc. For example, Foreign direct investment in retail sector is good for economy and consumers, but it should be implemented with various laws in place. There should be a upper limit and regulation on the quantum of investment permitted, otherwise, it will exacerbate the business of local retailers and suppliers.

Consider another example, to curb road accidents and to ensure road safety, there has to be a strong legal framework and laws to control speed limits, underage driving, drunken driving etc. In absence of traffic guidelines and laws, there would be no fear or deterrence for drivers and people would not follow the traffic rules diligently. Hence, to curb the problem of increasing road accidents, there should be draconian laws depending upon the extent of crime.

However, some people argue that even with laws in place, people do indulge in crimes, break rules. But that is done only by small proportion of population in the society. Most of the people fear the law and follow the rules and regulations in their respective fields of life and society.

To conclude, importance of a strong legal framework cannot be undermined. Although laws cannot change the moral upbringing of an individual, they can act as a deterrent, to a great extent, and can prevent people from indulging in acts that pose threat to society. However, government and judiciary of a nation must ensure that those laws are implemented properly and effectively.