Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In modern world, efficacy of laws have always been a central topic for our society. Therefore, this is a claim that problems in today's world are incapable to be solved by laws and legislative system, because laws lack powers to change human's internal wills. From my perspective of view, it is undeniably true that morality laws can't necessary cast decisive influence on people's personal life. Following this logic, we can't expect morality laws to achieve better society by calibrating personal freedom. However, when turning to business fields, morality laws could play a more fundamental and irreplaceable role.

To start off, I have to express my appreciation for the reason part of this issue. That is to say, morality laws can't reshape human's personal life, since people can always be able to circumvent laws, which ultimately gives way to more lenient laws consistent with their favorable life. The failure of American teetotalism and legislation is a case in point, which initially enforced a harsh forbidden alcohol abuse for men but finally turn in vain as proliferation of surreptitious bargains. Furthermore, we gradually learns from history, as aptly demonstrated by recognition of same-sex partnership and acceptance of physician-assisted suicides. In short, all of the past experience informs us that putting personal desire into cage of morality laws simply doesn't work.

Furthermore, so far as construction of greater society via impinging on personal freedom is concerned, the claim of the issue is of no doubt untenable, because their costs would predictably outweigh relevant benefits. For example, those who advocate criminalization of drugs use might cites various detrimental for their stance: increasing citizen violence, endangered people's health status and diminished addicts for medical usage. However, those defenders neglect the truth that such restriction doesn't prevent or even deter, from frequency of substance abuse. Inversely, it compel the addictive to undertake surreptitious sales via illegal channel, or even steal from medicine providers. In this sense, the anticipated risks definitely overshadow benefits that we can gain from.

However, when it comes to business world, I have to concede that morality laws is necessary for us to avoid detrimental influences of enterprises casting on every citizen. It is determined by avaricious nature of business that enterprise tend to act on behave of profits, rather than on the part of public interest. Consequently, business men might dare to risk public benefits if such decision could bring about them huge profit return. Such example abounds in our surrounding world. For instance, even if modern technologies already well serve to tackle with pollutants and make them innocuous for environment, business owners of factories, which generated deleterious wastes, still refuse to invest with equipment shipped with such capacity. Because this could undertake additional expenditure and inevitably diminish their ultimate revenue. Therefore, without mandatory regulation from government, we can't imagine that they would involuntarily sacrifice their profits and cater to public interest. From this perspective, only morality laws, which enunciates and imposes restrictions on business behaviors, could avoid those mercenaries to deteriorate our society unfetteredly.

In summary, while I accept with the reason part of this issue and the aforementioned claim seems applicable for personal domain, extending such practice to business world could further lead to negative results for public duty. That is to say, morality laws pale its significance in term of more personal domain, but they are still capable to preclude business stains to unfetteredly influence on our society.