Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It has been claimed in the issue that problems of modern society can not be solved by the laws and legal system as laws do not change the ethics and values of the people. To understand this statement, firstly, it is necessary to apprehened the word law. What and how exactly the law and legal system works. Law is created by the people for the people to punish them for their immoral deeds. Whenever any crime happens at a place it is the duty of the law system to handle the situation and incarcerate the person. Although law can not mandate the emotions of the people on the right track but without it people will forget the difference between right and wrong. Therefore, whether it is modern society problen or anything else, laws are necessary to clarify the difference between the two.

Firstly, as we are living in the age of the internet, there are plenty of social media networking sites on which people post comments, photos and things related to their personal life. Fake profiles can be easily created and these can be used to spread the wrong information about any person. Celebrities are trolled every other day. Moreover, several fraud bank transitions are done, debit card pins are traced by the theives and they steal money. All of this comes under the digitalized problems of the modern society. For this reason, several countries have created laws and regulations under digital crime as it was almost impossible to control this without any legal action.

Secondly, a famous company was under charges of the leakage of the data privacy was Facebook after which laws of the data privacy was revised again and data could not be taken by the Graph API anymore. Due to this legal action, personalised data of the people have been saved and is not in danger anymore.

Thirdly, islamic countries have strict laws when it comes to crime towards women. They take quick action and therefore people do not commit heinous actions towards women. On the other hand countris like India, there are not strict laws against the increasing crime rate. For this reason, people has no control whatsoever on their deeds. Also, lack of moral and value education also plays a vital role in this. Therefore, it is necessary that to handle problems of modern society it is necessary to amend strict laws as people's hearts and minds can sway but rules can not.

In the end, I would say that laws and legal activities are important in day to day life. As crime has also set his foot in virtual world which is difficult to track down. Therefore, laws and legal actions are required for modern society problems.