Claim: Though often considered an objective pursuit, learning about the historical past requires creativity.

Reason: Because we can never know the past directly, we must reconstruct it by imaginatively interpreting historical accounts, documents, and artifacts.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which the claim is based.

The modern world would make the understanding of the past events more difficult because many aspects of life have changed in the course of history. Therefore, it is correct that learning about historical past, in some cases, require imagination and creativity.

We can think about the past happenings that we had witnessed them in our lives. We can remember them sometimes in details and speak about them. However, the historical events that we have never had the chance of experiencing them would be difficult to imagine. Therefore, by using of the documents and artifacts that are gathered by the archeologists, we could have a better imagination about the historical event. Apparently, we use our creativity in imagining those historical pasts. That is why people go to the museums to watch the evidence and artifacts found in the historical sites. In this way, they can have a better and clearer thinking about the people that lived in those time, using those artifacts.

Nowadays, we have used numerous technological devices such as cellphones and digital cameras, in our normal life. It would be hard to imagine that how people in the past had been living without these technological devices. When a history professor shows a picture of a very old telegraph device belongs to 200 years ago, he uses his creativity to explain his students that how people in those days had contacted with each other’s. The students should use their imaginations to understand this concept. All of these uses of creativity and imaginations are due to the lack of our direct knowledge about the historical pasts.

When listening to the stories and experiences that our grandparents tell us about their past lives, we use our creativity to imagine their lives in that time. We create an imaginary life in our mind, imagine our grandparents walking in those old houses and playing with their siblings. There is no other way, but just imagination.

In conclusion, in reconstructing the past events that we had not seen them, we should use our creativity and imagination when watching the documents and artifacts from those times. We just can interpret what happened because we do not have direct understanding of them.