Claim: Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's major field of study.

Reason: Acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The success of a student relies on how well he is performing in his studies and also how he is aware of the surroundings. The prompt states that every university should instruct students to take a subject which is not related to their respective field of study because it helps in academic discipline and acquiring knowledge. In my opinion, I completely agree with the statement and argue that student must not limit their learning skills to their course only.

To begin, every student goes to his or her university to study and they have taken their stream to study. However, there is nothing wrong in learning something new. For instance, if a student is not able to cope up with the course he or she took it as major, there is an another way to be successful if that particular individual has learnt course something other than the major. The above mentioned statement states that it is better to learn something new rather than limited the knowledge to only the subjects chosen.

Further, having knowledge only on the particular field can never make a person successful. For an individual to be successful, a number of fields should be within the finger tips. For instance, consider Bill Gates and Steve Jobs, Steve Jobs was the first person to develop a computer but it was Bill Gates who became famous for it. Reason behind this was that Bill gates have better management skills than Jobs. This made Bill gates a successful entrepreneur and now a lot of people emulate him. The above mentioned statement states that lacking a single skill had an impact on the Steve Jobs life and it exacerbated his life.

It is always better to have multiple options in our life to have a good career. However, student must have the volition to give their 100% in learning the skill. There is a huge risk when a student is just not fixed to a career and he or she is just wandering between the courses. At the end it creates a big chaos and that student will end up nowhere. It must be Universities responsibility to teach their students an extra skill so that the knowledge of the student is not bounded just to their curriculum.