College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

How to decide what career to pursue is a very responsible question for every person. Some people argue that the choice should be based on the availability of jobs in a specific field. I disagree with this statement and believe that students should follow the career that interests them because they are more likely to find what fits best to their personality and become outstanding specialists in their field. Furthermore, they will be able to enjoy what they do in life. Moreover, basing your choice on the number of positions available does not guarantee that you get a job easily in the future.

In the first place, if students choose their career based on their talents and inclinations they have bigger chances to succeed in their professional lives. As an example, Jennifer Lopez’ parents wanted her to become a lawyer as it was a perspective profession. However, from early ages, she enjoyed dancing, singing, and acting and had a dream of becoming a movie star. Even though her parents did not support her and Jennifer had to escape from home at the age of 18 to pursue her dream career, she could overcome all the difficulties and become a famous world-known artist. This case is an inspiration and evidence that if you decide about your career grounded on your passion and talents you are likely to make progress in any field.

Second, you are more likely to be satisfied with your job and life eventually. Work is an essential part of our lives and we spend most of the time there. That is why the choice of your career plays an important role in feeling fulfilled with your life. I’ve always liked learning Maths and English, which led me to choose my major ‘International economics’ at the university, even though everybody told me that there are too many economists in Russia nowadays. Pursuing my major makes me feel satisfied as I do what I can do best and what I enjoy. If I chose the career in medicine, where specialists are highly demanded, I would have had to overcome my fear of blood and my indifference to chemistry and biology. Most likely I would not have been happy about that choice.

Besides, if everybody is guided by such opinion that the best way to choose the field of study is to look at the demand of the job market, their plan will fail. The situation in the job market is constantly changing. After some years, the supply of the current highly needed specialists will transcend the demand and it will be difficult to find the position.

There are circumstances, however, in which it would be advantageous to simply choose the major according to the availability of jobs. For instance, if you do not know what you like and what you are good at. Or, if you can do many things well and not sure where to develop yourself, and there is no much time for the rumination on this, the choice has to be made immediately. In said cases, it seems acceptable to look at the job market and decide according to the available positions.

Ultimately, making a choice of a field of study based on the number of jobs available appears to be the bad option. The best is to consider what you are good at and what you find interesting. This way you have higher chances in succeeding in the career, be satisfied with your life and find the job. However, extreme circumstances, such as short time-scales and uncertainty in one’s abilities and interests may prevent from making such choice. In these cases, decision based on the availability of jobs does appear to have its merits.