Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

It is undoubtedly appealing for students in colleges and universities to have an opportunity for an aboard learning semester. However, whether we should make such option as a compulsory course for them, greatly depends on how they treat for this opportunity. Will they consider it just a learning experience or they try to serve as a cultural ambassador between countries? Furthermore, for the sake of diminishing financial burden for colleges, perhaps some alternatives could be introduced as well.

To start off, while the experience learning aboard could expand both students' academic and life capacity, we should not force such activity as a mandatory option. Because not all of students fully utilize such chance with considering their own volition and language capacity. In order to stay in a country and really learn essence of relevant majors, the involving students should have sufficient language foundation, including abundant vocabulary, fluent communication skills and comprehensive knowledge to well adapt to the country's environment. Thus, if students lack of such prerequisite skills have to send out for further study, it's easy to lead to their frustration mood and even engender their courage to purse with the major. For instance, if one with years of English learning has been delivered to Japan, he/she would feel lost undoubtfully as language deficiency and lack of necessary country background. We can easily image that instead of accelerating his/her academic learning, he/she might become eager to beg for backing to home country as soon as possible.

Furthermore, putting forwards to let every student involve with study aboard, it will lead to several open questions and we should pore over them before taking action for follow-ups. First of all, while the nation could take the necessary cost of students, it will be still a huge expense to send out every student. Not every colleges and universities could afford such big challenge, which could put the original purpose in vain. Second, as mentioned above, only the language-adept students could be fully immersed with the foreign learning environment, we also need to consider whether they could play sufficiently as cultural ambassador role. As exchange students, they should fully understand their own national culture for the purpose of representing them efficiently. In the meanwhile, to adapt to communication purpose, they should accommodate with the foreign environment and be open enough to absorb the influxing foreign culture. For the case, if and only if the candidates own sufficiently open-mind and dexterous communication skills, our ultimate goal of culture bridge could be established as expected. Otherwise, such exchange student program could easily fail in practice and just leave as our wishful thinking.

Additionally, despite the fact that staying in foreign country could make benefit for students' learning, there might exist alternatives, such as a introduction of experienced foreign teachers into home country, which could also rival with the one alleged in the passage. Compared with the large cost of studying aboard, the introduction of foreign teachers to home country could let more students have opportunities with engagement for foreign culture. And the foreign teachers also could server as the cultural bridge as well. Most important, such approach decrease the financial burden greatly and could be adapted easily.

In summary, although the options brought about students outside is beneficial both from study and in life experience perspective, we still need to take a case-by-case approach. That is to say, instead of enacting it blindly for every student, the students' own wills for learning aboard and language ability should be considered seriously. Furthermore, the selected candidates should play a cultural bridge role between countries and facilitate the further effective communication. And of course, in case that another more economical solution emerge, it is wise to adapt it for giving more students with learning benefit and diverse teacher experience.