Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this passage, the author concludes that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely from Palean. To support his/her claim, the author cites current status of Brim River. Furthermore, the author emphasizes that no Palean boats have been found until now. Quite convincing though such conclusion appears at first glance, a closer scrutiny reveals that it lacks crucial supports and therefore we should consider more evidence to help evaluation such ratiocination.

To start off, we need more evidence to verify if geological situation around Palean has been changed during the long history. While it is shown that the Brim River stays very deep and board nowadays, no evidence serves to rule out the probability that it were ever shoal and not so board in the ancient time. Thus, additional evidence gains great significance to determine whether the vicissitude may really happen long time ago. If new evidence shows that this river was ever very shadow and not so wide as it is now, it is reasonably safe to claim that villager of Palean could easily travel across the river with woven baskets and his/her reasoning will be weakened. On the contrary, if new information discloses an opposite situation, his/her conclusion will be strengthened.

Furthermore, we need more evidence to ascertain whether any boats existed in other villages rather than Palea. While no boat has been found in Palean, we can not easily eliminate the probability that other villages possessed such traffic vehicles. If existence of boats in Lithos and other villages nearby Palea has been confirmed by further investigation, the infeasibility of Woven baskets from Paleans to Lithos is in great doubt and his/her reasoning will be rendered much less compelling. If the author could sufficiently demonstrate that no other boats could be provided by other villages nearby, we are disposed to believe that Woven baskets has little chance to be transported from Palean to Lithos.

Last but not least, despite the presence of all previous evidence, a more accurate evaluation of the author's conclusion requires additional evidence. Specific evidence is needed to decide whether there exists extensive business trades to transcend Woven baskets from Palean to Lithos; that is to say, ancient trades between villages surrounding Palaen ever flourished and people might resort to other transportation, such as inland transportation, to make Woven basket available in Lithos. If the answer is positive, his/her conclusion will be weakened. On the contrary, if archaeologists could not find robust information to evince such alternatives for transmitting Woven baskets to Lithos, we are supposed to believe that his/her conclusion gain more weights.

In summary, the evidence cited by the author in the passage could not provide sufficiently conclusive information to make his/her conclusion compelling. As a result, we need to consider more evidence to better evaluate such conclusion.