Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

The speaker asserts that colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country. In some sense, it is true that some students benefit a lot from studying out of their own country. However, we need to think about some side effects of this policy before we hastily conclude that it should be requirement for all students.

Admittedly, it is undeniable that studying abroad is a good opportunity for college students. To be specific, students get a sense of independence by living alone in another city. They can broaden their perspective and learn important etiquettes as a global citizen while mingling with foreigners whose culture background are distinct from them. In facts, many university students in South Korea want to attend an exchange program to get those chances. In this regard, the speaker’s claim is understandable in that the requirement will make more students can get this great chance.

Nonetheless, not all students need foreign experience for their career. Every student has a different dream job and future plan. Before we decide whether the requirement is reasonable or not, considering the students’ situation from a variety of major would be worthwhile; Students in medical school or school of law are already busy from studies related to their special areas, so the added requirement will be so much burden for them. Students who already plan to go to a graduate school at foreign country do not need to attend any exchange problem which might provide redundant experience, so they might prefer to get undergraduate degree early to move into next step.

Moreover, not all students get enough lesson within only one semester. We have to consider each individual’s characteristics, ability, and their economic status. In details, considering that one semester is not long enough for any student to do everything, some students might have to come back to home country with few lessons. Since living a daily life in an exotic environment is not easy for some students, one might spend the entire semester to get accustomed to a new condition, which could be considered as wasting of time. Students whose financial supports from family are not sufficient might to so busy to work as a part time job during one semester.

In conclusion, although the requirement of spending time in a foreign country has decent merits, I do not totally agree with the policy. Only by considering the all various circumstances of students, the policy can fully beneficial.