Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The statement claims that, company should monitor employee e-mail correspondence and the reason behind that claim is, that will reduce waste of resources and protect the company from lawsuits. While that type assertion may seem tenable from an utilitarian standpoint, but in deeper analysis, I find that type of policy problematic. There can be certain consequences such as employee dissatisfaction, lack of working freedom, which may eventually cause dire consequences.

In today's world, companies hold an utilitarian view and tries to reduce cost as much as they can to maximize their profit. Monitoring employee e-mail correspondence can be justified from the viewpoint that, it will make the company judge it's employees about their working efficiency and thus will able them to reduce cost and waste of system capacity. However, going through employee e-mail can cause some misconceptions among the management team as the information on those e-mail may not make sense all the time to those management people. For example, a person working on the production floor needs extensive knowledge regarding the production process and that's why he may get many e-mail regarding the production capacity and other parameters of the system. But the problem is that, those data and information may be unintelligible to those management people. They can misinterpret an information without having the intrinsic value of that data. Good intentions like reduce waste of resource such as time and system capacity may not always bring the best because without proper knowledge, good intentions can turn out to be something devastating.

Similarly, in deep inside, every person wishes to have some working freedom. By investigating on employee data and e-mail can have some negative consequences like hampering working freedom and eventually which leads to employee dissatisfaction. With a dissatisfied employee pool, company can hope a very little good from them.

On the other hand, there should be some provision to routine monitor employee performance and e-mail correspondence and employees should be trained on that issue. Without any type of monitoring, sometimes individual employee can create a hodgepodge in the system. Again, there can be some inefficient employees, who should be monitored. Apart from this, every employee should be given enough freedom to work and monitoring should be minimized as low as possible.