Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The above issue is a contentious one. The author states that company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondance which will help in reducing the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits. The above issue is full of flaws for a plethora a reasons. I disagree with the author's point of view.

First of all, monitoring employee e-mail on regular basis may be a violation of employee's private life. If company regulary keeps on checking their mails than employees will be careful about that and will not send many important and private messages over e-mail. Due to this company's work can be frustrated. Even though routine monitoring of employees e-mail is done with a good intention the employees may feel that company lacks trust on them.This can also be the reason for company being stagnant.

Secondly, the author states that routine monitoring will protect company from lawsuits which is again a baseless assumption. To illustrate this, consider for example if there is an unscrupulus employee in the company and he/she know's that routine monitoring of e-mail takes place than the employee won't send any malicious message over e-mail. Nowadays, as the technology is progressing there are many different means by which the employee can leak company details. So in this case, routine monitoring will only waste company's time and resources and it won't save them.

Apart from this, if employees feel that they are being trusted and valued, than they will give more than 100% for the company. Lack of trust would make people unhappy. Thus it is rightly said that the success of any organization depends on it's employees. If the company

will show trust and confidence in its employees than the company will definitely achieve success.

Hence to conclude everything, I strong believe that routine monitoring of employee e-mail will do more bad than good for company's growth.Routine monitoring should be done only when all employees within a firm are willing to abide by the decision of company management of routine monitoring.