"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

In the letter, the author concludes that by limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals. The following conclusion is flawed for a numerous reasons. The argument distorts the view of the situation by manipulating facts and by providing weak evidences. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little or no credible support for author's conclusion. Hence the argument can be considered unsubstantiated.

First and foremost, the author claims that the number of mopeds should be reduced rented should be reduced from 50 to 25. This is merely an assumption made without a solid ground.In order to strengthen the argument, questions remain to be answered to rule out other possibilities leading to such an accident. Does the accident take place during day or night? If accident takes places during night than are the street lamps in proper working condition? What is the condition of the roads? Are people following the traffic rules? Does the people driving moped have valid license? Unless such info is provided, the evidence stated in the letter is not solid enough to support the argument.

Secondly, the author only takes into consideration the summer season. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate the link with the accidents taking place. There are chances that due to negligence of the pedestrian the accidents might be taking place. If people do not cross the roads properly or are in a hurry than too the accident can take place irrespective of the population and season.

Finally, the author tells that even the the neighboring island of Seaville limited the number of rentals due to which there was 50% reduction in the accidents which is also a baseless claim. The author only states about one of the actions taken by Seaville city council. Other precautionary measures also might have been taken which the author failed to consider. To bolster the argument, more info is needed to exclude other possibilities that may result in such accidents.

To sum it all up, I believe that argument is not persuasive as it stands. Thus in order to bolster the argument the author should have provided more solid evidence that accident taking place in Balmer Island is due to the mopeds and reducing the rental mopeds to half will reduce the number of accidents.