Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

With the advent of internet and the ease with which communication to any person around the globe has become possible, brings some negative aspects along with comforting our lives. For example, an unintentional mail sent to someone, surely cannot be retrieved back, in fact can additionally be used against the sender as an evidence that could be justified in a lawsuit proving that the email was meant to harm the reputation of the receiver or had hidden malicious intents. Moreover, the lawsuit costs the sender and the firm he/she is working for tons of money.

Such a situation more often warns the company management to ensure a strict and disciplined work environment in the company, in order to save the company from disgrace and heavy lawsuits. Preventive measures that may conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence may thwart the employees from doing a sort of illegal work or corruption that could end up in severe repercussions. A certain extent of check is mandatory on the part of the firm because if they fail to do so, and trust their employees a lot, there could possibly a rat within them corrupting the entire system and never having the threat of being caught. More likely, the rat is quite capable of corrupting other employees to work against the firm for selfish reasons. The firm is responsible for keeping all its employees under check.

Keeping the work of each and every employee under surveillance is quite a tedious and next to impossible job, as any worker may at any point of time sneak out or fool the surveillance. Hence, e-mail and phone records could help to keep a check on any conversation the employee makes to anyone be it inside or outside the firm. Any work done by the employee which is remotely related to the firm could easily put the firm in jeopardy, probably ending in a lawsuit. In order to reduce the waste of resources such as time and the system capacity, the company could design a system where all the mail correspondences be checked regularly and stored at a place in order to be retrieved at any time in future.

On the contrary, some employees may argue that having a constant check about the doing of them could in a way invade their privacy and reflect the lack of trust the company has in them. The company needs to assure the employees that by doing so they are in no way harming the employee or their privacy, it is just a company policy that they need to follow in order to save the company's reputation. Moreover, the company can carry out their surveillance task sneakily, without disturbing or letting the employees know about their routine monitoring. Well, any case of misconduct on the part of any employee could be dealt in a harsh manner, making other employees cognizant about the consequences of treachery.

Finally, employee surveillance is a must for the company as it may employee hundreds to millions of employees and to trust each and every one is nothing but foolish. Checking email sent to customers or any other person could only be advantageous to the company so as to ensure that no employee is acting against the company and avoid huge lawsuits.