People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Decisions are sometimes as easy as what to eat and what not to eat or as critical and life changing as what career to pursue. Some decisions are capable of have great impact on us, the people near us and consequently on our future. Decision making is a process that we tend to develop at a very early age in our life. And when our decisions are made based on our emotions, they become all the more important to us in our lives. People who make decisions based on emotions are the one who are capable of driving it to the end without getting deterred, but to justify those decisions later in time with logic makes them poor decision makers.

Decisions in life are not always easy to make, when both the pros and cons columns are equally weighed. Henceforth, puts one in such a situation where going either way has some benefits and equally deleterious outcomes.

Emotions are based on the bonds one develops with the people- family, friends, society, etc. And with each passing day one treads on this Earth the bond gets stronger, intensifying the emotions and making one more inclined to make important, life-changing decisions based on these emotions. Let’s consider the bond of love shared between the mother and her child. The mother may go against all odds to protect her child with a secured future. Most of the decisions made by the mother are based on the special bond she shares with her child.

So is the mother who acts emotionally for the good of her child, a poor decision maker? Answer to such a question is now contingent based on various other factors that surround the situation. The love for her child always drives the mother constantly and without being deterred on the path which favors her child, indeed making her decision firm and her a good decision maker in her own eyes. But, she may not be a great decision maker when viewed by someone else. Even when the mother may try to defend her emotionally taken decision by logic later, people may still consider her a poor decision maker.

The society, or people in the surrounding may at times, not understand the emotion bounded with the decision one makes in one's life. In order to come out as a strong individual in the eyes of others, people try to defend their emotionally made decisions with a strong logic. People may be fooled that the person is a poor decision maker, but not necessarily is the real situation.

Emotions are the strongest bond that binds humans together and make us co-exist in a society peacefully. Most of the times our decisions are not just our own decisions, which considers our self-interest at its peak, but it considers the interests of all the people who matter to us in our lives. People are free to judge emotionally made decisions as poor, but the special emotional bond makes those decisions the strongest and that person a great decision maker at least in one's own eyes.