Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

In this age of cutthroat competition, high grades are a prerequisite in any field to enter universities or to access widely sought-after internships. The grading system is extended to a large scale, for people keep receiving votes at work and countries such as China assess its citizen's value by means of grades. Therefore, these appear to be the unique appropriate yardstick for throwing the light on individuals' talent and quality, but as detailed below, I believe that many antithetical consequences erect from such a race to reward.

The philosopher Kant pinpointed how much laziness was peculiar to human being in his book "An answer to the question:What is Enlightenment?". According to him, our proclivity to rest on our laurels and to do the bare necessity, are testament that people need a cynosure, and a well-delineated frame. One could imagine a corridor, from which students whom committed to it can't escape, leading to ample choices contingent upon the votes' average over years or in different sections for the purpose of a unique test. Thus, grades would firstly be the only means to structure education but also the custodian to ensure that our tendentious essence doesn't impinge upon the society's welfare but also on the education's momentum.

Moreover, this competition embodies one of the prevalent argument of capitalism i.e "the survival of the fittest". Grades are indeed a straightforward way to separate the most plucky and inclined to do sacrifices to reach their aims, from those who prefer enjoying different aspects of life, or merely the less smart. Since the result of a test is only the finality of the learning, it is essential to understand that to obtain the best grades one must, in the long-run, comprehend the core of the subjects taught by professors. There is no child or adult that culminates in great academic performances by idiotically swallowing a great deal of information, negating the author's view.

Stringent competition is also a catalyst for both the best of a field as well as their peers, less performing, to push their limits. It permits maintaining standards of excellence and denotes in a country an avid desire of knowledge and curiosity. The idea that the race to high grades precludes students from qualitatively learning, can also be contested by viewing this issue from the opposite lens. The best students would be necessitated to get high grades to keep their rank, and those behind would follow their counterparts' path in striving to succeed, paving the way for a symbiotic, of sound mind competition. This system also mirrors the veracity of the professional world, and the race to high grades would only be the foretaste of what will face students latter.

Unlike sports, though, or many other areas, and as mentioned above, the learning process embodies a duality, peculiar to itself, for not only the final result is defining, but the fact that students fathom the meaning of the knowledge imparted is sheerly important. Research and academia are in accordance that students are mesmerized by the idea of getting high grades in all fields, which often prevent pupils from actually seizing the meaning of a course, subsequently resulting in a loss of learning's quality. It is the true that for precocious or gifted children, this competition doesn't hamper the quality of their understanding, but the majority undergo such a system. Many prize more the reward of their parents and professors than engaging in a qualitative process, and the pressure put on children extends beyond the only scope of education. As highlighted by the South-Korean educational system, the race to high grades results in stress and anxiety, leading sometimes to depression and suicide.

Since school has been democratised, even the teaching profession is subject to results, with minimal averages to maintain. Boards of Education are under pressure from governments urging them to display that the children's majority is getting educated, rubbing off on the teaching's quality. Certain professors force themselves to grow to be remiss on the tests' difficulty, or the profundity of their courses. Indeed, the rate of success and children being educated is nowadays a form of politic, diplomatic muscle. The form prevails over the content, and this is deleterious for the society in the long-run.