Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institutions play a tremendous role in shaping the lives of its students. They have the potential to break or make the future of the youth. I firmly believe that educational institutions should help the students as per their need. The issue put down here compels one to take two different approaches. However, I am of the opinion that these institutions cannot dictate what a student is capable of or not.

In India, after the secondary examination results come out it is a norm to see students with better grades most often opt for scientific studies for their high school. Many may argue that they are forced to do so by their parents, in general or the society, at large. Nevertheless, I think the schools should be put as much blame as the society receives. Due to limitations of infrastructure and logistics, most institutions have a limited intake for it’s various courses.

Smart and sharp students are made to believe that science is what dominates the world and other streams are secondary to it. With time, most students who were indoctrinated with such dogmatic views grow tired due to lack of interest in the subjects they had opted for. They branch out to other streams on exploring their true meaning of their lives.They realize politics, finance, economics, history, geography, sociology, media, journalism, art are equally important if not more than pure sciences, engineering or medicine.

Indians have many glorious examples of people who ultimately ended up pursuing a different career, contrary to what they chose for at the first place. The current chief minister of the Indian national capital region (NCR) of Delhi, is an IIT pass-out. The Indian origin CEOs of Google and Microsoft, Mr. Sundar Pichai and Mr. Satya Nadella did pursue management studies for their postgraduate education.

What I personally feel is that life does not constitute a linear path from birth to death with a single purpose to live. It faces several twists and curves, has countless ups and downs and the so-called success can be achieved in more than one ways.

I am not against schools deciding what a student should pursue or not. In fact, faculty having years of experience in teaching students will know better what a pupil is capable of. However, a right kind of system needs to be developed to assess what a child is capable of in future. Unless and until, an overall and comprehensive development of a person is noted to determine skills, we will continue to have dissatisfied individuals. Institutions should try to provide equal opportunities to its students and push to promote individual talents.

I had a friend of mine who was very passionate about history. She did quite well in other subjects too but her school dissuaded her to pursue her dream career. She applied for a transfer and later completed her undergraduate in History in a reputed college. Presently, she is working on her PHD thesis on a topic related to ancient Indian warfare. Now imagine how much she would hate herself if she followed the herd and did some job which would not make her happy despite the financial stability.

Schools should not judge students by their past activities. They, on the other hand, should imbibe in pupils the benefits of hard work and sincerity, which will help them to confront the competitive world even if they lack passion.