Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Deciding on a field of study by the time students have entered the high school age is a difficult and yet life-altering task. In a place like Pakistan, students are mostly presented with two choices: they could either become a doctor or an engineer, since the technological revolution in the world means engineers are valuable everywhere and since health care is a universal matter. However, many students feel that neither of these options suits them, they find it more satisfying and engaging to make paintings, to take up a brush and a palette and paint complex portraits. Some find it liberating to be able to create music and write songs that lull the senses. Some realize that words flow from the tips of their pens like water rushing from a waterfall. Therefore, I believe that the liability of the educational institutions is not to dissuade students from pursuing certain fields of study with low success rates, but to rather invest in and develop their counseling services to allow students to make the correct decisions.

In Pakistan, the fields considered to have low rates of success include the likes of art, music and writing. The reason there is a low success rate is that entry into these fields is highly objected against: families pile up pressure, reasoning that artists do not make a living, that these fields do not garner much ‘respect’ from the society. As a result, people capable of excelling in these fields themselves end up becoming frustrated doctors and engineers, wasting their talents and contributing to the notions of unlikeliness of success in these fields. Therefore, educational institutions, should they begin dissuading students from pursuing these fields of study will continue to perpetuate this atrocity. Instead, the institutions should begin counselling students from a relatively young age to dissect their talents and thus place them on a better pedestal from which to make a much more informed and confident decision about their future.

It can be argued that should the students who do decide to go into these fields fail to succeed, they will spend their lives full of regret for not having chosen a path that would have led them to success. This will lead them to discourage people around them from making the same ‘mistake’ that they made. However, it should be noted that the fields that have a high likelihood of success do not innately guarantee success to all entrants. It takes a basic level of discipline, dedication and determination on the part of the student to be able to succeed anywhere, be it a field with a low likelihood of success, or a field with a high likelihood of success. Therefore, educational institutions are better of instilling valuable traits such as discipline and hard work in their students, and see them going up against artificial, piled up odds and defeating them.

Finally, were educational institutions to adopt this behavior, the progression and the diversification of society would suffer major blows. Societies thrive on art, humor, comedy, literature and making sure those with the ability to make their contributions to these essentials line up to become half-hearted doctors and engineers only sets up a society to move backwards, devoid of any free thinkers, philosophers and poets who give it an aim, who meet its spiritual needs. Not only that, it would further deteriorate the society by preventing people from utilizing their talents, leading to an undeveloped and unhappy society.