Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed

Students are the building block of the nation and educational institutions like schools, colleges are the building block of these students. Educational institutions play a major role in the development of nation's student in a proper way. These educational institutions keep appropriate subjects through which students learn basic skills that help them in their daily life. It is correct that educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed but at the same time each student has his/her special interest in the study of a particular subject. These institutes can't force students to follow specific subjects. Let me bolster each of my points by giving some examples.

Educational institutions know students well. They have all data of each student. They know the capabilities of each student. So these educational institutions can guide their students in a proper way which will lead them to get good jobs. These educational institutions know the current job market, current technologies. These educational institutions have all view about companies and skills needed to get into these companies. So these educational institutions can better guide their students to get jobs in these companies.

This is true that these educational institutions can help students to get jobs and settle in their life but they cannot force each student to study proper subject. Because each student has different skill sets. Consider a hypothetical example, if one student is not good at history but good at science, then he should study the science. But because of subjects imposed by institute he needs to study history as well to clear his exams. So this will might lessen his interest in science and eventually, he will end up with no job. Also, each student has their own definition of success, some might call getting a good job as a success, some might call getting a failure in life as success, some might call getting into research as a success. So these educational institutions never the actual potential of the student.

So in summary, I just want to say that these educational institutions can dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed but don't force students to have particular subjects. Because every student has his/her own capabilities and skills.