The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given memorandum, the author has recommended the investment in Consolidated Industries. This proposal or recommendation is based on author's conclusion that climate forecasters predict that the cold season going to continue for a long time for several more years. The author has made here very hasty conclusion based on several unwarranted assumptions. Before going to seriously consider author's recommendation, one needs to address the weaknesses of his conclusion.

First, the author has mentioned that in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold. So, there must be other companies who already must have invested in the Consolidated Industries. These companies must have set up and developed their business in these areas. So, starting a new company and investing in Consolidated Industries may going to fail as there are already market leaders there.

Second, the author has mentioned that many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. So, the author here assumed that there won't be any new technologies like home heaters in these new homes. So, this might be a possibility that builders will add these new state of art feature considering the area and most of the people's need. So, investing in Consolidated Industries in these are might going to fail.

Lastly, the author doesn't have considered the possibility that there could be other alternatives like wood, room heaters etc. So, use of these alternatives to warm the house might reduce demand for oil for heating. So, opening a new company and investing in Consolidated Industries might not be needed or it will be unnecessary.

Thus, author's recommendation to invest in Consolidated Industries is not well thought out and is based on weak assumptions. If the factors mentioned above are not considered seriously by the author, then this recommendation going to lead to business failure.