Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement suggests that educational institutions should be responsible for encouraging or discouraging future careers of their students. Obviously, teachers and professors, who see wide diversity of students every year, who, most probably, are capable to distinguish true talent from complete absence of one, can assume what amount of efforts will take an individual to achieve desired result in a field of passion. On the other hand, so many other factors affect the success that it sounds unfair to pass such a duty to someone else but the individual himself (or herself). The world knows myriad of examples when a person discouraged by self-righteous surrounding still managed to achieve success in the field of interest.

One of the most striking examples, from my point of view, is Michal Jordan. NBA website states that he is “the greatest basketball player of all times”. During his sophomore year he was considered too short to play basketball and was not included in any serious team. But he did not give up. He trained vigorously, and his fervor overcame even physical disadvantage: he managed to grow extra inches. New height combined with sharpened playing skills made the deal and today he is an example to follow.

Another example that comes to my mind is from film-making industry. His name is, probably, is almost a synonym of thoughtful and meaningful but also commercially successful Hollywood film. He was nominated for Oscar reward 7 times as the best film and won the prize twice. But at the very beginning was failed to get into film school of South California University. Twice. Because of his “C” average grade. Fortunately, another school admitted him and the world knew “Schindler’s list”, “Saving Private Ryan” and “Bridge of Spies” and the name – Steven Spielberg.

One essay cannot include all the cases worth of mentioning. Here is just several of them. Albert Einstein was almost dismissed by teachers because started to speak at the age of 4, deemed suffering developmental issues and did not demonstrate convincing academic success at school, but that did not stop him from creating the theory of relativity. Agatha Christie who suffered from dyslexia but managed to overcome it and turned into a voracious reader who produced 66 detective novels and is admitted by Guiness World Record as the best-selling novelist of all times. Aleksander Pushkin, the greatest Russian writer, had penultimate grades in his class, including languages, but nowadays when someone tries to set a benchmark of convincing vocabulary he or she compares it to that one of Pushkin.

Though true talent, passion and curiosity may create outstanding personalities despite what other people say, sometimes it is worth to listen to what professionals of the field say. And the best example, is my personal example from music school. Apparently, I am far from being tone-deaf but not good enough to master solfeggio on one hand and have not enough passion for musical performance so that I would seat and sedulously study playing. Obviously, experienced teachers saw it from the very first sight and did their best to convince me from wasting valuable time for something that I am not capable to master. At a matter of fact, today I can play some piano but for long could not listen for classic music without being terrified.

So, to sum up, one can not rely solely on his educator’s perception of his or her talents. People are different. Teachers are different too: their capabilities and experience, acuteness and acumen, motivation and desires. One should listen to what other people say critically and move on according to where his inner light calls him or her.