Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Educational institutions are tools people use to gain knowledge, learn a certain profession, or network. Every school offers classes, and depending on how advanced the class is, students must clear requisites to enroll. If a student wants to enroll in a certain major and has cleared the requisites to enroll in the classes required for that major, what right does the school have to dissuade the student from pursuing that field of study? It is inappropriate for an institution to determine whether a student is unlikely to succeed in a certain field as motivation and willpower are not testable.

If the prompt defines ‘dissuasion’ as the need for a student to fulfill many prerequisites that the student does not already have, then educational organizations do in fact have a right to dissuade students. It is important for students to attain a certain level of proficiency in a subject to be able to advance to the next level. If a class has many prerequisites, it is acceptable for them to be used as a dissuasion tool. They are implemented to prevent unqualified students from enrolling an dropping out. It’s a filter to encourage success. However, if the student has the will and motivation to complete the prerequisite classes, the organization should only be encouraging the student.

On the other hand, any given educational institution should provide counseling and advisement opportunities to students on what majors would be easily attainable, and which would not. Students should be informed on the amount of time and effort, and what types of skills would be asked of them depending on the field of study. For example, if a student with an artistic background but little mathematical ability were to attempt to enroll as a physics major, it would be prudent for the counselors to tell the student what would be required of them if they were to pursue that field. This isn’t dissuasion, this is informing the student of the requirements and ensuring they understand the type of commitment they are making. Once properly informed, the onus is on the student to decide whether to pursue that field of study.

Advisors should also take time to clearly understand what the students likes and dislikes are. Taking these factors into account is important when a student is deciding their major. If a student states that they do not enjoy engaging in artistic endeavors, then deciding to major in graphic design would be a poor choice. In this case it is the advisor’s responsibility to inform the student that graphic design involves art, and would therefore be a poor choice as a major. If the student were to counter that there are several technical aspects of graphic design they are interested in, and would like to proceed with that major, the advisor should respect that decision if the prerequisites are in line.