Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

In the current competitive and complex world, for a students it can be hard to choose correct path. Some students will choose fields based on their interest, while some other will choose based on their exam scores. However, indisputably this is a hard choice. Therefore some might need guidance of his/her educational institute. But dissuade students from perusing a field they are not likely to succeed is not the kind of help students want. In my opinion institutes should consider following three main factors before providing the guidance.

Students should pursue fields of study which aligns with their interest. If they are forced to choose, a career which they do not like, they will not be happy. Even if they pass exams and get a job in a high paying company, they will to perform at their highest level. They will haphazardly finish tasked assign to them. Consequently, they will faced to diatribes of upper management. Work place will become a hell to them. Furthermore they will not get promotions due to lack of performance. These professional life matters may affect to private and family life as well. If educational institutes can help student choose a field of study based on his/her interest then he/she could have avoided all the above problems. They will be able to perform better when they choose a career align with their interest. Even if the job market is bad, they can start their own firms, if they follow a career path which will make them happy. Therefore, it is an obligation of institutes to encourage students to persuade careers which aligns with their interests and institutes should help them to overcome their knowledge barriers.

If students are forced to follow fields with highest probability to succeed, then educational system resources, both physical and human, will not be enough. For example, to study field of medicine to be a doctor is a career which can lead to better life. But will a university has enough resources to train and educated students if number of students double. On the other hand this (increased teachers per student ration) will reduce the quality of the education. This will affect to degradation of that field and I future due to saturation of the job market, it will become a “bad” career choice.

Students’ ability to succeed should not decide based on his/ her current abilities. If a student can work hard and gain knowledge and can become a master. The most essential requirements are passion and courage. For example, if a student is interested in becoming a engineer, but currently he weaker at mathematics, one institute may dissuade him to follow another course. But, if the student has the will and determination he will improve his skills required to be an engineer. Skills can be learn and eventual will learn while they are following the course. But passion for a subject, determination those are hard to train. Therefore, it is not wise to discourage students from following a field of study based on their current performance. Because, they might have choose that career path with a passion and then they will eventually improve their skills and will succeed in future.

In conclusion, educational institute should do force students to give up on a field of study, which they are unlikely to be succeed. This is because, one’s current abilities can be enhanced so that he will become succeed in future. Furthermore the field he choose should be align with his interest, which will help him to have not only a better professional life but also a jubilant family life. Therefore, even if student will not likely to be successful educational institutes should support them to identify barriers and overcome them and follow the path with passion.