Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Educational Institutions have played a major role in advent and improvement of humanity. It can be argued that they have played the single largest role in academic and cultural superiority of the human race. From efficient transfer of knowledge for the future generationw to acting as archives for fruits of the efforts of past generations, educational institutions do it all. The author states that educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from the fields where they are unlikely to succeed. I mostly disagree with this opinion for the following two reasons.

In the modern age of information, the role of educational institutions have evolved dramatically. Students can much easily discover their passion and love for a field without the involvement of educational institutions. If these institutions, pressure students to accept or give up a certain field, it'd severely cripple the growth of visionaries and inspirational figures in these fields. There are numerous examples in the history, where people have excelled despite their limitations - going by author's opinion, someone who was deaf like Mozart would've been strongly dissuaded from following up on his field of passion. We would've been denied one of the greatest musicians of all time. Some global events like Paralympics would've been severly hindered, since instituions would've also dissuaded disabled from pursuing sports due to their obvious limitations. As such if educational institutions start deciding best field for a candidate, it'd stem growth of people who can persist and excel against all odds.

Secondly, educational institutions persuading students to follow or give up a particular field would set a very dangerous political precendent. The government willing to strong hand these institutions could very easily motivate students to follow their idealogy or dissuade them from pursuing a subject which may lead them to question their authority. Fields like journalism could be severly dissuaded and educational instituions would persuade students to study and follow an approach government deems fit. Some examples of this are how children are indoctrinated with extremist idealogies in some Madarssas around the world. Another apparent example of this is how their is a conscious bias in unassuming citizens regarding certain country or race. India-Pakistan or Israel-Palestine are common archtypes of such cases. Critical Race Theory in United States which is being encouraged in democrat states and discouraged in republican ones is also one such example of state forcing educational institutions to promote or dissuade a certain topic.

I concede that the author's point has merit in the fact it'd prevent a good number of students from facing failure and disappointment in their life. However, failure is not neccessarily a bad thing. Skills learnt in one field often prove useful in another. And above all, this does not supersede the freedom afforded to future generation to follow their passion against all odds.