Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

Since the old times, educators have played a defining role in the lives of their students. The way they evaluate their pupils have changed a lot over the time, while traditionally this has been something that has been subjective to each educator, recently with advent of globalisation and a lot more opportunities for personal biases to creep in, a more standardized format has been implemented. The author claims that educators should base their assessment of the students' knowledge not on grasp of the facts but on the ability to explain the ideas and trends illustrating those facts. I disagree with the author on basis of following two reasons.

Firstly, there are numerous cases where the student is quite talented in understanding the core facts and concepts of a subject but is unable to express them as clearly as he or she would like to. This would put them at an undue disadvantage despite the fact their knowledge on a concept would be equal to or maybe greater than their peers. One example of this would be the case of Stephen Hawking, fortunately the world was able to witness his greatness and knowledge before he was afflicted by the terrible disease which took his ability to properly communicate, but had he been afflicted by this in his childhood when the technology wasn't developed enough to have helped him express his knowledge as clearly as he'd have liked, by author's standard he'd have been condoned to a life of mediocrity. One other example of this would be the case of the great mathematician S. Ramanujan. He was not accorded recognition in proportion to his talent primarily for two reasons - one, he was at a disadvantage when communicating his ideas due to English being his second language, two, he was not able to provide clear proof of the theorems he had published and thus was dismissed. Now that, his theorems have been proven and have been elucidated, he is regarded as one of the greatest mathematician of all time.

Secondly, in order to be a visionary, a true genius of a field, having a concrete grasp of an idea is much more important as compared to the ability to express them clearly. Many true geniuses of the world had amazing mind and an unmatchable work ethic but often lacked the ability to express their innovations to the world. In fact I'd argue many scientists in today's world are introverts and do not have the ability to illustrate their ideas as clearly as some of their counterparts. This does not diminish the stature of their work though. Leonardo Da Vinci is a big example of having great ideas and an inability to illustrate them clearly. He had designed and developed many rudimentary although flawed plans of things much ahead of his time such as helicopters and working of human anatomuy. His work was not recognised among his peers at the time maybe because of absurdity of it, or maybe because he coudldn't illustrate the nuances of his plans better. Although now he is considered one of the legends in field of art and the godfather of inventions.

I'd concede that author's point holds some weight in the fact that the ability of illustrate one's ideas is a key aspect to learning and communicating those ideas to the masses. It is only then that there'd be some practical aspect to these ideas. However I find this concept of assessment very provincial because we would lose many visionaries if we judge them by the degree to which they can explain their ideas. Often these ideas themselves might seem absurd to us currently and mistakenly we attribute it to the inability to illustrate them more lucidly. But it might be the case that we simply lack the knowledge exhaustive enough to comprehend it.