The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The history of humanity has seen rise and fall of numerous empires and with it, numerous forms of governance and administration. It would be fair to say that each of them had their own pros and cons, and each of them played a significant role in the rise and eventual decline of these kingdoms. They have come in all forms and shapes, from absolutely despotics dictatorships, to limiting governance in family as in monarchy, communist one party governments to democracy. The author states that the well being of the society is enhanced when many of its people question authority. I mostly agree with the his or her statement for the following two reasons.

Firstly, it ensures those who are in power are accountable for their actions. They would need to show their achievements and at the same time explain their lapses. Not only would this prevent corruptions and inefficiencies in the governance, it'd create a drive among the authorities to come up with new and innovative solutions to societies problems as to enhance their image in public. Democracy as a form of goverment is a good example of this plan in action - as a "of the people, by the people, for the people" type of goverment, people have the right to question the authority. In the event that the people in power don't perform upto the expectations of the people, they can easily be replaced in the next election. This provides incentives for the group in authority to constantly innovate ideas for improvement in the society if they wish to stay in power. When people question the authority, it stems venality among those in power. If caught, it can lead to their decline and in many cases permanent loss of trust. The RTI or Right to Information Act in India is a good example of the sample, which enables Indian voters to obtain any financial records of a government organisation or question the activites of any leader in public office in order to know if he or she is actually contributing towards the growth of the soceity.

Secondly, a transparent authority figure where people can know it's actions and question it's decision, breeds trust amont the populace. This leads to a development of an overall positive sentiment in the society where people help and support the intiatives taken the government and as such it can give better results than expected. The high level of trust also helps in more efficient law and order and reduces crimes. Recent examples of this are the stark contrast between the covid vaccination programmes in New Zealand and United States. The overall higher level of trust in government, enables the authorities in New Zealand to complete it's vaccination programmes and lockdowns successfully and eventually helped it contain the damage due to COVID to a minimal amount. In contrast, the relatively low level of trust of populace on the government of US resulted in a considerbale poriton of population opting out of taking the COVID vaccine which is resulting in still rising cases of COVID in some states and an overall much higher losses due to COVID19. Another example would be Swachh Bharat Abhiyaan in India aimed at cleaning of venerated river of Ganga. The intiative received support from the local community and as such the river has been more clean than it has ever been in the past decade.

While I concede that people questioning authority can lead to slower decision making process and thus the authorities can accomplish a little less as opposed to the opposite situation. However, the efficiency brought on by the trust of people can more than make up for any loss of time in decison making process.