Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the recommendation of station manager of KICK in Medway, he/she concludes that including more in-call advice programmes would help towards gaining a larger audience for the show in a fashion similar to that of WCQP in Rockville. However the recommedation hinges on some key arguments which if proved false would debilitate the efficacy of the recommendation.

Firstly, was the call-in advice programme the main reason for increase in the share of radio audience for WCQP? It may be the case, that certain competing radio shows were closed down or had a dip in the quality of their shows thereby resulting in viewers shifting to WCQP. This would result in increasing the audience share of the the programme with no notable contribution from the new initiative. It may also be the case that there was a increase in the percentage of population that listens to the radio. Maybe a large amount of new radio listeners shifted into the area or many people started listening to the radio. This would also result in an increase in the share of WCQP audience which cannot be attributed to the call-in advice programme.

Secondly, the author cites the nationwide survey as another reason, but are those surverys accurate? Maybe the survey interviewed a higher amount of call-in programmes fans as compared to general radio fans. In that case the survey would misrepresent the number of listeners who are fans of such programmes. The nationwide survey would inflate the popularity of call in programmes when in fact it is not as popular as it is touted to be. The survey also uses an ambiguous term "such programmes" which could encompass call in-advice as well as many similar programmes ideated throughout the country. Maybe certain other programmes of the same category are very popular and they are widely listened throughout the populace. Maybe the call-in programmes actually rank pretty low in the category but is considered popular just because it lies in the same category as other popular programmes. In this case the survey would grossly misrepresent the popularity of call in programmes and would generate false results.

Finally, are both locations similar in their demographic and listening tastes? Maybe majority in Rockville consists of retired people who like to listen and consult with the call-in advice programmes, while Medway consists of a younger population who believe in sorting out problems themselves. Then implementing this programmes in Medway would not reap similar results as it did in Rockville. Maybe the preferences of Medway residents are wildly different than those of Rockville and they prefer the current set of content. Changing the programme may even have a deleterious effect on the popularity of the radio station. Instead of an increase in the audience share, tampering with tried and tested routine may drive away the previously estabilished audience.

In conclusion, it is possible that introducing programmes similar to Rockville in Medway, will produce similar results - however the author needs to provide extra evidence i.e more details on the reasons for growth of WCQP, accuracy and reliability of the survey and taste of the local audience in order to make his recommendations foolproof. If author fails to provide evidence on aforementioned arguments, it would hurt the tenability of his/her recommendations significantly.