While the Department of Education in the state of Attra suggests that high school students be assigned homework every day, the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily homework. In the district of Sanlee, 86 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week, whereas in the district of Marlee, less than 25 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week. Yet the students in Marlee earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are the students in Sanlee. Therefore, we recommend that all teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

In the author's recommendation, author concludes that teachers in high school should assign homework to students no more than twice a week. However this recommendation of author hinges on three assumptions which if disproven would significantly hinder the efficacy of this recommendation.

Firstly, is the population in Sanlee similar to that of Marlee? It may be the case than children in Sanlee are in general less academically gifted than the students of Marlee. In that case, even with the higher homework volume, the students would tend to provide a worse result than Sanlee. It may also be true that students of Marlee, despite being given more homework, are not really interested in completing them. Maybe they submit incomplete work day after day. In such case as well, homework frequency would not represent the total gain in knowledge.

Secondly, are homeworks the main reason for increase in grades of students of Sanlee? It may be possible that while they are in general provided homeworks in smaller frequencies, the volume of that homework may be much larger than that of Marlee. It that case the total homework of Sanlee may even be bigger than that of Marlee. Maybe, students in Sanlee are much better cheaters in exam than students of Marlee. If that is the case, the academic result would not be a balanced representation of the effect of homeworks.

Finally, are the results of survey robust and exhaustive? The survey provides results from the cities of Marlee and Sanlee but conveniently chooses to ignore rest of the areas. Maybe Marlee and Sanlee are an outlier out of all the areas in the state, the reason due to which author chooses to highlight them? It is possible, that while the proportion of homework and the results are inverse in this case, it may be direct for majority of the cities in the state. It may also be the case, that the recent year, in which survey was taken was an aberration and in fact most of the times, Marlee outstrips Sanlee in terms of academic performance. I am also inclined to believe more in the recommendations of Department of Education as it would have much more data and therefore it's recommendations would be much more robust.

To conclude, while it may be true that in accordance with author's recommendations, lowering the frequency of homework may increase the academic perforance of the school, he needs to provide more evidence regarding the aforementioned points. He needs to show the similarity between populations of Marlee and Sanlee, evidence regarding the key reasons for academic success in the area and that survey results are a balanced representation all the areas in the state. Failure to do would severly debilitate the solidity of his recommendations.