Some people believe that the most important qualities of an effective teacher are understanding and empathy. Others believe that it is more important for teachers to be rigorous and demanding in their expectations for students.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

It can be agreed unanimously that from the ancient times, teachers have played a key role in shaping the lives of students. Whether it be great sages from the ancient times in their ashrams deep in the forest or great hubs of learning like Oxford and Cambridge which has housed numerous erudites. Teaching comes in as many forms as the teachers themselves. The author states that while some people feel teachers need to be more understanding and emphatic with their pupils, others feel that they need to be rigourous and demanding in their expectations from their students. I mostly agree with the first view point for the following two reasons.

First, the most important role of the teacher has to be the guiding figure in the lives of their students. Pupils would only be motivated to listen to their teachers have to say if they see him or her as someone worth emulating. The greatest teachers in the history have always been the greatest inspiration for their followers. One great example of this would be Lord Buddha, sure he imparted the wisdom of a great religion, but the origin of his greatness was not from the knowledge he imparted but the empathy he showed to the downtrodden and the poor. He had already gained a substantial following and was one of the notable figures in the society by the time he achieved nirvana. People were inspired by his humanity and kindness, not his knowledge. One other example of this is that the global teacher award that is awarded each year to the teachers who have made a notable contribution to the field, is decided not by the amount of knowledge they imparted but the way they motivated numerous kids around the world to pick up books when they'd have rather picked up tools and gone to work.

Secondly, as the world has evolved into the age of technology in the 21st century, the role of teachers has evolved as well. The advent of internet has ensured no one would be face a dearth of sources of information should he or she wish to learn. The role of teachers now not only includes imparting the knowledge but has encompassed developing all the facets of a student's character. Now when children can easily access information on the web, I feel a teacher's role has evolved to be more of someone who students could count on to clear his or her doubts, someone who can guide them the path to their goals so that they don't get lost in the sea of information and someone who they can count on for support when they trip on the path of their dreams. In this day and age, a teacher who a student can approach without any reservations is a lot more valuable than someone who'd provide them a strict curriculum to work with.

Although I concede that teachers who are more demanding of his or her students do provide certain benefits as in they motivate their pupils into pushing their limits and working up to the expectations of their teachers. However this approach has one fallacy, it can lead to severe demotivation in students who consistently fail to perform for one reason or the other. It can easily lead a complete disinterest in the education system among this section of students. A successful teacher in my opinion is the one acts as a foundation upon which students build their dreams.