Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Today's highly competitive scenario demands highly potent persons from specialized back grounds as this can help to solve majority of the problem of the world. So this is a responsibility of schools to motivate students to pursue studies in those fields of studies in which they possess a knack.

First of all because every person has some exceptional talents in some fields For example had Madonna playing Cricket and Sachin Tendulkar singing songs they would never have reached to the places where they are and both would have ended up on looking for another job.So it is necessary for everyone to pursue their respective fields of expertise. Because without it they would never be able to make a good future.

Students have a great potential to learn things and it is responsibility of schools to channelize their energies and potential to right directions. So that their energies are not wasted and positively concentrated on the fields where they can excel.As someone has rightly said that "Far and away the best gift life has to offer is the ability to work hard on a thing worth working" .Therefore In many schools it is mandatory to take an aptitude test before admission in to colleges. This is necessary so that relying on marks in the final exams is not enough as it a combine marks sheet. So a high percentage for mathematics can compensate for low percentage for Economics. So the aptitude test is an appropriate parameter to check the potential of students

Opponents of this idea would argue that sometimes there is peer pressure or burden from family that forces students to pursue their studies in fields that are not of their interest. For example it is a common perception in some societies that Doctors and Engineers earn more than accountants and teachers. But I have read some where that psychologists agree that those students who pursue their career in fields of their interest on average earn much more than people who do not. As a rule a person do a work with more enthusiasm if he is interested in what he is doing. For example Florence Nightangle choose the profession of nursing and got success in it because she had an extra-ordinary talent for it. While there are many students passing out as nurses every year but the name and fame she got is because she has got highly exceptional talent for this field.

All in all a school must persuade their their students to pursue studies in field of studies in which they are more interested as by this they can earn more than by making their future in any other fields